RSS

Day 1 – Starts and Goals

01 Jan

Happy new year!
This morning I read 3 John 1:2 and thought it was fitting for this new journey:
Beloved, I pray that all may go well with you and that you may in good health, as it goes well with your soul

It’s probably a good thing that the scale is broken.  I am retaining a ton of water from all the soda I drank last night.  I’ll head to Target today for a new scale and weigh in tomorrow morning.  But of course I am full-on South Beach Phase 1 today!  I told my husband I wanted to do South Beach for a full year.  He groaned (even though it’s not “diet” food, come on now!).

If you haven’t read about South Beach or low glycemic eating – this is NOT no or low carb.  I’m no expert (or I’d be thin already!!!)  but the gist is this – The first two weeks are low sugar/low carb to flush out the bad stuff and reduce cravings. After that you add in the good carbs and  it’s all about making good choices – brown rice instead of white, whole grains instead of processed bleached flour, reducing sugar intake, eliminating a lot of processed food.  It teaches the habit of making good decisions.  I feel fantastic when I eat like this.  And, bonus, there’s now counting or measuring to worry about.  It’s truly a lifestyle rather than a diet.  Every diet says that, right?  For this, it’s true.  Now I just need to keep up the will power to stay away from the things that trigger cravings for me.  Diet soda is the worst.

In addition to returning to low glycemic / South Beach eating, I have decided to make these commitments:
No Soda!!!
No Fast Food
No Take Out Dinners for the first two weeks and then only SB appropriate take out a maximum of once a week, but I’m aiming for more like every 10-14 days.

I don’t have a total weight loss goal yet.  I know I have at least 100 lbs. to lose.  That’s my starting point.  I’ll adjust for a final weigh number as my body changes.  So many Facebook pages I follow are of women who lost 100+ in a year’s time.  I’d love to do that too!  I don’t know if it’s realistic.  The lady I admire most is 60-something and lost over 100 lbs. in 8 months.  But she also had time to hike for 2-3 hours every day.  I barely have time to brush my teeth!  I don’t want to set myself up for failure but I want to push myself.  Here’s what I’ll do – starting goal: lose 100 lbs. in 2013.  I will reevaluate the time goal every 2 months.

I gorged so bad over the last week that I don’t think I’ve truly felt hungry since before Christmas.  😦  I’m definitely not hungry right now.  When I do get hungry my breakfast will be a South Beach Meal Bar* and a can of V8.  For lunch I’m going to have a big salad with some leftover ham.  Dinner will be ham and cabbage and other veggies.  Or Ham and Cauliflower Gratin from Kalyn’s Kitchen (the absolute best collection of low glycemic/South Beach recipes!).  I’m going to do a minimum of 45 minutes of exercise.  I’m hoping to do something fun, like dancing, today but at the very least I’ll do the elliptical before bed.

Happy New Year to us all!!
Sunshine

*South Beach Meal Bar –
Now I know these are intended for Phases 2 and 3 but breakfast is tough for me.  I am usually on-the-go getting the 2 older kids to preschool and rarely have time to actually sit and eat.  I need something I can grab and eat in the car.  Since my  last pregnancy I’ve developed a sensitivity to eggs so that removes an entire category of usual low glycemic breakfasts!  I’ve used these for Phase 1 before and they don’t give me cravings and they keep me full for hours.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 1, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Day 1 – Starts and Goals

  1. fitmommy44

    January 4, 2013 at 6:08 pm

    You go girl!!!!! That is an awesome goal…..glad I have someone to do this with.

     

Leave a Reply

 
